Dedicated in 1902, the church was designed by Connecticut architect Joseph W Northrop in a style with allusions to both Richardson Romanesque and Gothic Revival architecture, utilizing granite as the primary material and brownstone for decorative trim. Stained glass windows in the chancel apse and the west end of the sanctuary are considered among the best work of the Tiffany Studios of New York. The exterior shell of the building was restored to its original condition, replacing deteriorated systems and duplicating original components and details, where missing or damaged, such as new copper gutters, downspouts, valleys, ridge caps, and flashings. Roof slates were replaced as required; granite and brownstone repaired, repointed and reset as needed; and certain stained glass windows and frames were repaired and rebuilt.

Design studies were commissioned to explore restoration and renovation of the church interior, renovation of the undercroft, enhancement of access for the physically challenged, and upgrading of site and landscape features.